Banner 3 Banner 2

Oshoala and Osimhen Win Top Awards at the 2023 CAF Awards

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) hosted the 2023 CAF Awards ceremony on Monday, December 11 in Marrakech, Morocco, at the Movenpick Hotel. Oshoala Osimhen

Victor Osimhen won the most sought-after honor, African Player of the Year.

The attacker overcame two football superstars, Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, PSG) and Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool), to win the African Player of the Year award.

It is a dream come true. I have to thank everybody who has helped me on this journey and all Africans who have helped to put me on the map despite my faults.

Victor Osimhen

Oshoala, a fellow Nigerian striker, kept the women’s title to give the Barcelona star a record-breaking sixth prize. She defeated Barbara Banda of Shanghai Sengli, Zambia, and Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa and Racing Louisville. Oshoala Osimhen CAF 2023

Oshoala, 29, scored 27 goals for the Spanish team in their treble-winning 2022–23 campaign as they won the league, the Champions League, and the Supercopa de Espana Femenina. Osimhen, 24, scored 31 goals in 39 matches for the Italian team last season as they won their first Serie A title since 1990.

Following a spectacular journey to the World Cup semifinals in Qatar, Morocco’s men’s team received National Team of the Year, while their manager, Walid Regragui, took home Coach of the Year honors.

The women’s National Team of the Year award went to Nigeria, however, Desiree Ellis of South Africa won the women’s Coach of the Year award four times in consecutive years.

Read Also: betPawa and Ghana Football Association Restructure its Partnership Deal

Here is the full list of the awards and winners in CAF 2023:

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) Oshoala Osimhen CAF 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

You cannot copy content of this page